Skip to content


The Department of Physics, one of the four departments of the College of Science and Mathematics at MSU-Iligan Institute of Technology, offers a four-year BS Physics curriculum and a two-year MS Physics degree program,and a three-year Ph.D. Physics program. MSU-IIT is the only Center-of-Excellence (COE) in Physics outside Luzon as identified by the Commission on Higher Education (CHED) per resolution No. 021-98.

As a Center of Excellence in the field of Physics, the Physics Department is tasked to spearhead the thrust, at least in Visayas and Mindanao, towards research and development. Being a recipient of P3M grant per year for 3 years from CHED, the acquisition of numerous number of laboratory equipments including powerful, high-end computers were made possible.

The Department of Physics MS program was accredited by the Department of Science and Technology (DOST) through Philippine Council for Advance Research and Development (PCASTRD). Financial assistance for acquisition of equipment was provided and MSU-IIT scholarship grants for qualified graduate students will be provided under the said program.


An internationally recognized national center of excellence in physics education and research in Southern Philippines by 2010.


To provide high quality physics education and research outputs for the growth and development of Southern Philippines through advanced and responsive programs and instruction, collaborative research, strengthened linkages and relevant extension services.


In the context of the Institute's vision and mission, by 2010 the Physics Department of MSU-IIT aims :

1. to produce highly competent faculty force;
2. to produce highly competent physics graduates and top-caliber physicists through physics instruction and relevant research who will fill-up the manpower needs in both academe and industries;
3. to equip and prepare students for future graduate programs and research works;
4. to strengthen collaborative research works through national and foreign linkages;
5. to maximize the publication of research output in national and international refereed journals;
6. to be of greater service to the community through relevant and responsive extension programs.


The 4-year B.S. Physics curriculum was conceived, initiated and implemented by Dr. Remigio G. Tee in early 1980s and the first student graduated in 1984. It is thus very fortunate for MSU-IIT to have one person early on to conceive and develop the program. Dr. Remigio G. Tee, indeed, has laid the foundations; what the Department is doing now is to build upon its foundations.

During the first 15 years from its existence, a total of fourteen (14) students graduated. And among the graduates (Ronald Te and Jorge Lubguban), two have received their Ph.D. Physics degrees from American and Japanese universities. From 1998-2005, the Department has seen its largest growth rate. The number of graduates in this period totals to seventy-four (74). Thus clearly, we should celebrate when the 100th B.S. graduates comes.

The M.S. Physics program was implemented in October 1994 and at present, there are already twenty (20) graduates coming from all over Mindanao. All of these graduates have the potential to go on to Ph.D. program and five of them are in such a program under Japanese government scholarships. The list of all graduates can be found here.

The Ph. D. Physics program was approved by the BOR in May 1999 and was only implemented in June 2003. The implementation of the program was hampered because of the CHED requirement of at least three (3) full time Ph. D. holders in the Department. The agreement for cooperation between MSU-IIT and Niigata University in Japan as well as mutual agreement of cooperation between RCTP and MSU-IIT have provided a scheme to jumpstart the said program. The Physics Department has worked for the award of Dr. Hitoshi Miyata as honorary professor of the Institute. Master of Physics (MOP) was later implemented in 2004 as a response to the CHED-HEDF mandate. To date, the Department has a battery of twenty-four (24) faculty members, three (3) support staff members and two (2) graduate teaching assistants.

2006. Website: Eli. Banner design inspired by MIT. CMS by: Drupal
home personnel visit us graduate linkages undergraduate research courses news and events overview